The Enemy by Charlie Higson | Book Review

The Enemy (The Enemy, #1), by Charlie Higson

Genre: Young Adult/Horror
Publication Date: September 3, 2009
Publisher: Penguin UK
Pages: 406
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Synopsis (from Goodreads): In the wake of a devastating disease, everyone sixteen and older is either dead or a decomposing, brainless creature with a ravenous appetite for flesh. Teens have barricaded themselves in buildings throughout London and venture outside only when they need to scavenge for food. The group of kids living a Waitrose supermarket is beginning to run out of options. When a mysterious traveler arrives and offers them safe haven at Buckingham Palace, they begin a harrowing journey across London. But their fight is far from over-the threat from within the palace is as real as the one outside it. 

My Thoughts: The Enemy was one of the best books that I have ever read.

My friend has been telling me to read this book for almost a year now, and I always put it off, thinking I wouldn’t enjoy it and wanting to read other books instead. But I am so glad that I finally decided to read it. Because of how much she loved it and praised it, I had very high expectations going in to this book, and I am happy to say that I am not disappointed.

The writing style really fits the story well; because the novel is written in third person omniscient, there is no one “main character.” This adds to the suspense of the novel, because you really do not know who can die. No one is safe. For the most part, I loved the characters. I loved Arran and Maxie and Blue and Sophie and all of the other characters so muchThe one character I did not really like/found annoying was Callum. To me, he came off as whiny and irritating, and (I’m trying to avoid spoilers here) the decision that he made did not seem believable or realistic. Fortunately, he is not extremely important and not present very often.

So far, this is my favorite book that I have read this year, with the possible exception of City of Heavenly Fire. I definitely recommend you read this if you have not already.

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5 Stars): This book was so exciting, fast-paced, and just overall amazing. 

If you enjoyed The Enemy, you may like:
~ The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1) by Rick Yancey
~ The Dead (The Enemy, #2), by Charlie Higson
~ The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) by Suzanne Collins
~ The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1) by Alexandra Bracken

Comment Question: If the zombie apocalypse really did happen, what would you do? Leave a comment to let me know! Personally, I would probably stay inside my house until I ran out of food, but after that, I’d probably die.

P.S.: If you want, you can follow me on my Goodreads and my Twitter.

3 thoughts on “The Enemy by Charlie Higson | Book Review

  1. […] Honestly, this entire series should be on here. I read this book in less than 48 hours, it was that good. I love the characters and the plot and the concept. It’s just such a good book that everyone should read, but I feel like it’s super underrated. This review was the first review I posted on this blog as well, which is pretty cool. You can read it here. […]

    Like

  2. […] Honestly, this entire series should be on here. I read this book in less than 48 hours, it was that good. I love the characters and the plot and the concept. It’s just such a good book that everyone should read, but I feel like it’s super underrated. This review was the first review I posted on this blog as well, which is pretty cool. You can read it here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

