Best Sequels | Top Five List #6

A lot of times, the sequel to a book is disappointing, and can possibly entirely ruin a series. However, some sequels are just so mind-blowingly amazing. Today, I thought it would be fun to write about my favorite sequels, because I do what I want. 

Let’s start:

5. The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians , #3)

This is my favorite of the PJO books, so it definitely deserves a spot on this list. I like it because it takes place in the winter, which is pretty cool (no pun intended), and it has a different sort of feel than the others. Also, we get to Thalia’s (one of my favorite characters in the series) badassery for the first time. And I love the plot of this one. Yeah.

4. City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)

City of Glass is my favorite TMI book (followed closely by City of Heavenly Fire), and I’m sure that many people feel the same way. It was probably the most action packed, and a lot happened. It was just amazing, and what really hooked me on the series. 

3. Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2)

Clockwork Prince was really good. The only flaw with it is that it focused more on Tessa’s relationship with Jem, rather than Will, which some people probably appreciated, but I’m a hardcore Wessa shipper. But there was a lot of Will in this one, which I really liked (*fanboys*). I really liked Will’s development in this one, as well.

2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)

Goblet of Fire is my favorite Harry Potter book (do you notice a pattern here?), because the Triwizard Tournament was so so so fun to read about. And Voldemort returns in this one, which really set the rest of the series in motion. Writing this makes me want to go and reread the series, haha (I probably will).

1. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)

I feel like Catching Fire is a very polarized sequel; either you love it or you hate it. Personally, I loved it. I loved the Quarter Quell, and the clock arena, and Finnick, and Johanna, and everything about this book was perfect, for me at least. (Also, am I the only one who thinks it would have been so cool if Haymitch went into the arena instead of Peeta?)


Well, those are my favorite sequels. Do you agree/disagree with any of these? Let me know by leaving a comment!

~ RJ

 

2 thoughts on “Best Sequels | Top Five List #6

Leave a Reply

