The Dead by Charlie Higson | Book Review

The Dead (The Enemy, #2) by Charlie Higson

The Dead

Genre: Horror/Young Adult
Publishing Date: 14 June 2011 (U.S.)
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion (U.S.)
Pages: 496
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The Dead begins one year before the action in The Enemy, just after the Disaster. A terrible disease has struck everyone over the age of sixteen, leaving them either dead or a decomposing, flesh-eating creature. The action starts in a boarding school just outside London where all the teachers have turned into zombies. Together they begin a terrifying journey to find safety, and home.

My Thoughts: The Dead was so good that I am hardly able to even put into words how much I loved it. I’ll try though.

The Dead takes place about one year before The Enemy, and has a different cast of characters. As this is a very character driven story, obviously the characters are important. I especially enjoy how Charlie Higson is completely unafraid of killing off beloved characters–one minute they’re laughing and having a good time and the next they’re dead–but if you don’t enjoy that kind of story, I would not recommend this book to you. My favorite character from the book was Ed. He starts as a scared young boy, but eventually becomes a badass warrior. Most of the characters were very likable, but Ed was my favorite (also, I shipped him with Jack… if you’ve read the book I hope you agree with me).

The plot of this story was much more interesting than that of The Enemy. Not only do the kids have to fight the zombies (dubbed sickos in this novel, but also called strangers or grown-ups), but they also have to deal with a raging firestorm ripping its way through London. This led to a very exciting ending, which was very intense and epic and of course, resulted in a lot of deaths.

I especially loved how this book and The Enemy intertwined. A few characters from the first novel show up in this one, and it’s interesting to see them at the very beginning of the disaster. And the ending! I just loved it.

My Rating: ★★★★★ (5/5 Stars) ~ Honestly, I’d give this book infinite stars if I could. It was so so so good and wonderful and absolutely perfect. I’d definitely recommend this book, and this series, to anyone, especially those as obsessed with zombies as I am.

One thought on “The Dead by Charlie Higson | Book Review

Leave a Reply

