The Revenge of Seven by Pittacus Lore | Book Review

The Revenge of Seven (Lorien Legacies, #5) by Pittacus Lore

The Revenge of Seven

Note: This review (especially the synopsis) contain major spoilers for previous books in the series. However, there will be no spoilers for this book.

Genre: Science Fiction/Young Adult
Publishing Date: 26 August 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 371
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The worst was supposed to be over. We were reunited after a decade apart. We were discovering the truth of our past. We were training and getting stronger every day. We were even happy…

We never imagined the Mogodorians could turn one of our own against us. We were fools for trusting Five. And now Eight is lost forever. I would do anything to bring him back, but that’s impossible. Instead, I will do whatever it takes to destroy every last one of them.

I’ve spent my entire life hiding from them, and they’ve stolen everything away from me. But that stops now. We’re going to take the battle to them. We have a new ally who knows their weaknesses. And I finally have the power to fight back.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.

Number Two in England.

Number Three in Kenya.

And Number Eight in Florida.

They killed them all.

I am Number Seven.

I will make them pay.

This book was honestly a bit of a disappointment. It wasn’t terrible, but it definitely did not live up to previous books in the series.

The book was extremely fast-paced and suspenseful, and I stayed up very late (and by very late I mean 11) reading. I read it in four days, which is pretty fast for me. “Pittacus Lore’s” writing style is so good at captivating the reader. Oddly enough despite the quick pace of the book, not much seemed to happen until the end.

One of the major things that irritated me about this book was that the title is highly misleading. Not only does Marina/Seven not even narrate a single part of the book, there is literally no revenge in this book on her part. True, she becomes more of a bitch, especially at the beginning, but she doesn’t really do much at all, let alone any avenging of Eight’s death.

Ella narrates part of the book, which while I understand is necessary, felt a bit weird. She’s, what, twelve? Yet she sounds just as mature as Six and John, our two other narrators. Which brings me to the next fault of the series–all of the characters sound pretty much the same. At least the font is different so that I can easily tell what’s happening, but the characters don’t really have distinct voices, which I found a bit annoying. Side note: I really wish that Sam would have narrated part of this book, or even Adam, and Marina, obviously.

Despite these faults, the book still had a lot of what I really like about the series. There are a lot of badass alien battles (although noticeably less than in previous books, at least as far as I could tell). Also, I really like Adam and I’m glad that he plays a major part in this book. And, like I said before, the book is an easy and quick read, just like the previous four books. AND, Five returns, but he’s much different now, and I must admit, I really like the new Five.

My Rating: ★★★ (3/5 Stars) This is more of a 3.5. It was a bit boring and flat compared to the other books in the series. It was definitely a setup book though, and I can tell that the next book(s) are going to be epic.

4 thoughts on “The Revenge of Seven by Pittacus Lore | Book Review

Leave a Reply

