The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey | Book Review + Discussion

The Infinite Sea

The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2)
by Rick Yancey

Genre: Science Fiction/Dystopia/Post Apocalyptic/Young Adult (this book is hard to define…it’s divergent, if you will)
Publication Date: 16 September 2014
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover
Source: Gifted

Synopsis (from Goodreads): How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

MyThoughts

This part of the review will be spoiler free.

The Infinite Sea was a bit of a disappointment. After the awesomeness that was The 5th Wave, I had high expectations for the sequel. While the book was by no means terrible, it was a bit of a let-down. 

As far as I can tell, the book takes place a few days after the events of The 5th Wave. The first 2/3 (“Book One”) of the book were honestly quite boring. Not much seemed to happen, and the characters all just stayed in one place for the majority of the novel. There was a lot of talking. I wish I had reread The 5th Wave before reading this, because a lot of what they talked about was referencing events in the first book, and I didn’t remember them, so I was really confused.

However, the last 100 pages (“Book Two”) or so really picked up and really held my interest. I don’t want to spoil anything, but just know, if you’ve started reading this and are hesitant to continue, it does pick up and is worth pushing through. It took me about three days to read the first part, but I finished the second part in less than a day.

The best part of the book, in my opinion, is the writing style. I really enjoyed how easily Rick Yancey is able to switch viewpoints and make it work. The characters are interesting and multi-layered and have great backstories that writing in one point of view would not do the series justice. This brings me into my next point: the characters are wonderful. Well-developed and different from each other, it was fascinating to learn about them. I loved them all, even the ones I love to hate (like Vosch and Grace).

Final Thoughts: This series is definitely worth a read if you’ve not already started it. The 5th Wave is really, really good, and while this one is a bit disappointing, it’s still worth reading. I’m still planning on finishing the trilogy when the next one comes out.

★★★ (3/5 Stars)

Discussion

This part of the review is meant for those who’ve already read the book. As a result, it will contain spoilers.

First things first, the prologue. That was intense, and one of my favorite parts of the entire book. I knew that something was up, but I didn’t realize exactly what was going on until it happened, and I sort of just sat there like:

Which brings me to another “holy shit” moment, when Megan showed up and said “my throat hurts,” and no one knew what was going on and I was literally shaking. And then Evan was like “I wouldn’t do that.” And the scene where Evan and Cassie were pulling the bomb out of her throat was so good. It was intense but funny.

Anyways, other than that, the first part of the book bore me. But, Book Two, I loved it. When Razor and Ringer were playing chess, then ‘chaseball’? LOVED IT. The escape scene? PERFECT BECAUSE RINGER IS A BADASS. The helicopter scene? SO COOL. I totally shipped Ringer and Razor, until RAZOR DIED. I sort of just stopped everything and:

It was so unexpected and unacceptable. Razor was an interesting character, who I went back and forth between hating and loving and hating again then finally loving again. When Ringer kissed him I was happy and then… he died. Why must Rick Yancey do this to me!?

And finally, the last thing I want to talk about was the very very end, when Cassie reunited with Evan. For one, I was glad that there was no love triangle, because that’s how it seemed it was going to go. But there’s not one because Cassie and Evan ARE IN LOVE AND I LOVE THEM. And their reunion was another one of my favorite parts.

What was your favorite/least favorite part of The Infinite Sea? Leave me a comment and let me know!

3 thoughts on “The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey | Book Review + Discussion

Leave a Reply

