Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit | Top Ten Tuesday #8

TopTenTuesday Banner GreyWhite

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about the feature here.


AKA a list of places I want to go and books that take place or even briefly mention that place. Let’s get started.

1. Hogwarts
(Harry Potter…obviously)

I feel as though this is going to be on a LOT of people’s lists. Like, who doesn’t want to go to Hogwarts? I’d kill to go to Hogwarts, and I say that quite literally. The police can’t find you there ;).

2. New York City
(Percy Jackson & The Mortal Instruments)

I’ve already been to New York City, and the main reason I wanted to go was because of Percy Jackson, and I was luckily able to convince my parents to take us. But I want to visit again, and try to find the City of Bones.

3. Narnia
(The Chronicles of Narnia…obviously)

I’ve only read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, but I’ve seen all three movies, so I am obviously qualified to say that I’d like to go to Narnia. As long as the White Witch isn’t there, at least.

4. [Victorian] London
(The Infernal Devices and The Enemy)

I’m actually going to London in 2016, so that’s exciting. Also, The Infernal Devices takes place in Victorian London, so that’s exciting. (Also, The Enemy takes place in London, but it doesn’t particularly make me want to visit, what with the zombies and all.)

5. Rome
(The Heroes of Olympus)

I never really had much interest in Rome until reading The Heroes of Olympus, when the seven go to Rome (I think in Mark of Athena?). It seems like so much fun and I want to see the Colosseum and everything. I’m also going to Rome in 2016, so uh, that’s cool.

6. Idris
(The Mortal Instruments)

Idris, especially Alicante, seems so beautiful. Unfortunately it’s not real and I’ll never be able to visit, but one can dream. I guess I’ll have to stick to real places like New York City and Hogwarts…

7. Greece
(Percy Jackson & The Heroes of Olympus)

Similarly to Rome, I had no interest in visiting Greece until reading the Percy Jackson series. I became fascinated with Greek mythology and wanted to visit, to see the Parthenon and whatnot.

8. Mytica
(Falling Kingdoms)

Yeah, Mytica. If I lived hear, I’d want to live in Auranos, because Paelsia is full of peasants and Limeros is full of basics, and Auranos is for the main baes (like me). Plus, there’s supposedly really good wine, and while I’ve never had wine, I’m sure I’d enjoy the wine of the “really good” variant.

9. Seattle
(Winger)

Basically: I want to visit Seattle because it rains and I like the rain (when I’m inside), and in Winger, they visit Seattle, briefly, so I think this counts. Moving on.

10. Spain
(The Power of Six)

Half(ish) of The Power of Six takes place in Spain, and despite the language barrier (who am I kidding, I am fluent in Spanish [kidding]), I want to visit. Fun fact: I had the choice between visiting Spain and Portugal or England, France, and Italy, and I chose the latter. But I still want to visit Spain and Portugal one day.


Do we have any places in common? Link me to your Top Ten Tuesday below!

~ RJ

 

One thought on “Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit | Top Ten Tuesday #8

Leave a Reply

