The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Book Review + Discussion

FINALLY. The time has come for me to do my The Blood of Olympus review. I’ve been busy, lazy, and overall just putting this off for some reason, but today, I shall finally finish this!


The Blood of OlympusThe Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)
by Rick Riordan

Genre: Fantasy/Middle Grade
Publication Date: 7 October 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 516
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

MyThoughts
This part of the review will be spoiler-free.

The Blood of Olympus was a wonderful finale to one of my favorite series of all time. A few things were a bit disappointing, but overall it was nearly perfect.

The first thing that bothered me was the lack of Percy. I know this series isn’t meant to be about him, but I still wanted more and he was hardly in this one at all. He didn’t even have a single point of view chapter. Furthermore, Hazel, Frank, and Annabeth don’t have point of view chapters either, which is a bit of a disappointment because they’re my favorite characters.

Speaking of point of views, I really, really liked Nico’s and Reyna’s point of view chapters. They were so fun to read, and they’ve never narrated a part of the series before. The sort of brother-sister relationship between the two of them was amazing as well.

I can’t really say much more without spoiling, so just know that I absolutely loved this book and this series. If you’ve not yet started it, you definitely need to do so.

★ (5/5 Stars)

Discussion
This part of the review will contain major spoilers.

First thing’s first, sorry if this section is kind of a mess. A lot of things happened in this book and I have a lot of feels. Let’s begin.

Let’s start with the ending. I really liked how Leo went back to Calypso, but I wish there had been a scene with him reuniting with his friends at Camp Half-Blood. Like, they don’t even know he’s alive. Also, how was Calypso finally able to leave? That part didn’t make sense to me.

Anways, Nico. I ship him and Will Solace so hard. I’m glad that he decided to stay at Camp Half-Blood because reasons. Also, he’s pretty badass, and I enjoyed reading about him fighting using his dead powers and everything.

The ending felt abrupt. Gaia was awakened for basically 2.2 seconds and then she was dead again. It felt anticlimatic and I was hoping for an epic final battle between her, the demigods, and the gods. However, while we didn’t get that with Gaia, it came while the seven were fighting the giants. When the gods descended from the sky, I had to put the book down because I was smiling so hard that it was difficult to read. That was definitely my favorite part of the book.

Another favorite part of the book was when Octavian died. I know death isn’t humorous, but, let’s be honest, it was pretty funny and he got what he deserved.

I loved how we reunited with Thalia and the Hunters and the Amazons (but mainly Thalia). I wish she played a bigger role, but it was still nice to see her for even an extremely short amount of time.

I could go into great detail about all the things I loved about the book, but that would take way too much time. It was pretty much perfect.

What was your favorite part of this book? Leave a comment and let me know!

10 thoughts on “The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Book Review + Discussion

  1. YESSS. I TOTALLY AGREE WITH THIS!
    You couldn’t have summed it up any better. The ending was waay too abrupt. Like Rick spends four books building the climax for this final battle, and then it ends like THIS *snaps fingers* Just like that.
    And Nico and Will ❤ *sighs dreamily*
    I also wanted an epilogue soo badly. I knew that there would be no epilogue because Rick Riordan already tweeted about it BUT, I wanted Percy to meet his mom in the end. Or Annabeth to meet her family. And if that couldn't happen, Leo getting reunited with his friends.
    All in all, great review! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lol I like your honesty. (busy, lazy and just putting this off)

    I agree it was a nice finale, but it was missing Percy and Annabeth! Mostly Percy. Yeah I like Hazel and her new magic is awesome! Since House of Hades had all the POVs I expected them here too. It surprised me that I liked Reyna after her POV and Nico’s was the best!

    [SPOILERY PART]
    Yes, Leo needed to get back to Camp Half Blood! I really hope Nico’s happy. It wasn’t clear if Will just wanted to be friends or not. I want a short story about them in the future! Gaia wasn’t worth all the hype, I agree. My favorite part was the demi gods fighting with their parents too! I only wish we could’ve been inside all of their heads at that moment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

