Books on My Winter TBR | Top Ten Tuesday #11

TopTenTuesday Banner GreyWhite

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about the feature here.


I want to begin by saying that of my Fall TBR List, I only actually read 4 of the 10 (though I am currently reading another at the moment), so most likely I will be reading things other than what I list here.

To me, winter is a good time to read fantasy (though, when is it not a good time to read fantasy?), historical, and sometimes contemporary. Though, I usually just read whatever I feel like reading. Anyways, let’s get started.

1 and 2. Rebel Spring and Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

I read Falling Kingdoms in August (I think), and I quite enjoyed it. Rebel Spring is the sequel, and Gathering Darkness is the third book and comes out on December 9th, so pretty soon. Like I said, fantasy is the perfect genre for the winter months, so these will hopefully be good reads.

3. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Not only will reading this bring me closer to completing all of John Green’s books, I’m also pretty sure that it takes place during the winter, so that means it is perfect to read this season. Also, it sounds really interesting, and I have liked all of John Green’s books so far, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this.

4. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

To be honest, historical fiction is not typically my favorite genre. However, for some strange reason I’ve been in the mood to read a historical book, and this one sounds really good and has really good reviews for the most part. It also sounds like it might make me depressed, so of course I am excited to read it.

5 and 6. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Believe it or not, I’ve never seen any of these movies or read any of these books. And while a trusted source has told me that the movies are better than the books, I still kind of want to read them.

7. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

I just really want to read this, and since pretty much the only thing I know about this series is “Winter is coming,” I figured it would be a good book to read during the winter. Plus, I’ve heard a lot of people die, so that’s exciting.

8. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

I’ve been meaning to read the entirety of this series for the longest time, but I figured I’d reread this one because it takes place when Narnia is in an eternal winter, making it perfect to read this season.

9. Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

I’ve already read this, but I kinda want to reread it because I remember loving it so much and it was just so fun and enjoyable to read.

10. The Bane Chronicles

This just came out a couple of weeks ago, and ever since finishing The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments, I have been desperately waiting for more Shadowhunter books. Hopefully this will hold me over until Lady Midnight next fall.


 

Well, that’s my list. Other books not on this list that I will probably end up reading include: In The Afterlight, The Iron Trial, The Enemy series, rereading Harry Potter, Champion, Regeneration (for class), and rereading Harry Potter some more.

~ RJ

6 thoughts on “Books on My Winter TBR | Top Ten Tuesday #11

  1. Congrats on reading 4 books on your fall list! I don’t think I’ve ever read that many books that I planned to. I don’t know that the Lord of the Rings movies are better, just different. Yes read the books then see the movies! 🙂

    A Game of Thrones is good, not a book I’d typically read since it’s very adult. Lots of skimming of sex scenes required. But it has such great characters!

    Bane Chronicles is good, some stories really good, some just okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are definitely some interesting books on your list! I have Anthony Doerr also high on my TBR pile and I really should get a copy of Let It Snow for my Christmas read! And you ended up reading way more books on your list than I did with my Spring TBR; I only managed to read one, oops! 😉

    The Hobbit, Lord Of The Rings and Game Of Thrones are quite interesting novels, but they have some very long descriptions and a slow pace, so be prepared for that when you start them. I made it up to the fourth book of the Game Of Thrones series, and I’m still wondering if I want to continue… I want to know what happens next, but reading and actually finishing the books takes aaaaaages.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

