Favorite Books of 2014

2014 was a pretty good year for me. I made new friends, watched lots of good movies, started my blog, and of course, read lots of good books. This is a list of my top ten favorite books I read this past year. I tried to put them in order of how much I liked them, but it was kinda hard. Also, these are books I read in 2014, not necessarily published this year. Anyways, without further ado, let’s begin.


10. The Catcher in The Rye by JD Salinger

Normally, I hate books I have to read for school (re: Pride and Prejudice and Julius Caesar). However, this one was actually really, really good, and one of the few school books I’ve actually finished. I enjoyed it very much.

9. Paper Towns by John Green

This is my favorite John Green book that I’ve read so far. It wasn’t sad, unlike TFIOS and Looking For Alaska, and it had a road trip aspect to it that I really liked. I really like John Green’s writing style, and I was able to finish this in just a few days. You can read my full (but very bad) reviewhere.

8. Every Day by David Levithan

This is the first David Levithan book I’ve read, and as of right now, only book by him that I’ve read. However, I want to change that, because I loved this one so much. It had a very unique and interesting concept, and the writing was very good as well. I also really liked how it ended, as it felt realistic despite the non-realistic concept.

7. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

This book was so good. I really loved the characters and the plot. Overall, it wasn’t very surprising, but I really loved how the multiple plot lines all came together in the end. I think the fourth and final book comes out next year, so I definitely plan on continuing with this series and catching up before then. You can read my full review here.

6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This was such a good book, that made me both excited and terrified to go to college. It was very relateable, because I love Harry Potter like Cath loves Simon Snow. The love triangle felt realistic as well, which is always good. I just loved it.

5. The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Despite the similarities to Harry Potter, this was such an enjoyable book. I love Call and Aaron and Tamara, and the plot was pretty decent as well. It was completely unpredictable and full of twists that I didn’t see coming, which was very enjoyable. You can read my full review here. 

4. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

This series overall was very good, and this was the best book of the three in my opinion. It brought everything together, and it was such a good finale. The epilogue was heartbreaking, but wonderful as well. You can read my full review here. 

3. The Enemy by Charlie Higson

Honestly, this entire series should be on here. I read this book in less than 48 hours, it was that good. I love the characters and the plot and the concept. It’s just such a good book that everyone should read, but I feel like it’s super underrated. This review was the first review I posted on this blog as well, which is pretty cool. You can read it here.

2. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

While it’s extremely depressing to see this series go, this book was so good. Despite the few problems I had with it (re: not enough Percy), it was still very enjoyable and a good finale to the series. I loved it. You can read my full review and discussion here.

1. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

This book. This book. It was so amazing and heartbreaking and I loved it. I started this series last year, and I’ve loved every single book, but this one is the best of the series. It was such an amazing last book to the series, and I’m very pleased with how it ended. I loved Clary and Jace and Alec and Isabelle and Simon, and I also loved Emma and Julian, and I’m excited to read about them in Lady Midnight.


Well, those are my ten favorite books that I read this year. Which book was your favorite of the year? Leave me a comment and let me know!

I have a few more posts, including a holiday book haul coming soon, that I need to get out before the end of the year, and then it’ll be 2015! How terrifyingly exciting.

Anyways, that’s all for today! Bye!

~ RJ

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2014

  1. Fangirl and City of Heavenly Fire are on my list as well! I will probably write it tomorrow. Sounds like you read a lot of great books this year! I want to read The Catcher and The Rye as a challenge to read more classics. I also agree with you about Clockwork Princess, best book in the trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

