Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

cinderCinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)
by Marissa Meyer

 Genre: Science Fiction/Young Adult (dystopia and fantasy-ish also)
Publication Date: 3 January 2012
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback
Source: Gifted

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

MyThoughts

Overall, I really enjoyed Cinder. It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it was very enjoyable and fun to read.

I received this book from my friend quite a while ago, and I honestly never planned on reading it. It just didn’t seem like it would be something that I would like. I decided to give it a chance after hearing so many good things about it, and I’m very glad that I did.

The concept is really unique–Cinderella as a cyborg? I’m pretty sure that has never been done, and I applaud Marissa Meyer for coming up with such a creative idea. There’s a lot going on within the book; the plague, Queen Levana, the ball, and it’s gripping and kept me reading and wanting more and more. The writing is wonderful, and it really drew me into the story.

The one bad thing about this book was that it was predictable. Without spoiling anything, I saw all of the ‘big twists’ coming from a mile away, but that might just be because I’m used to reading YA and they often have ‘big twists’ and you get used to it. Regardless, I really wish the book was less predictable; there was only one occasion that actually surprised me, and it was a pretty small one.

Overall, Cinder is a decent first book to a series, and I definitely plan on picking up the sequels very soon. It’s fun, creative, and well written, even though it is predictable.

★ (4/5 Stars)


I’m doing pretty well on my reading goal for the year; I’ve already read two of the three books I wanted to this month.

Anyways, thanks for reading my review of Cinder! If you’ve read it, let me know what your favorite part was by leaving me a comment below. That’s all for today!

~ RJ

7 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

  1. I also really enjoyed this book! I wasnt a huge fan of the romance, as I think it was a little underdeveloped in character, but the plot with Queen Levana and the Lunars was addictive. I started reading this series when it was first published and preordered all the sequels. I cannot wait to see how the story ends. I highly recommend that you continue reading, as the fairy tales intertwine and I love them so much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

