Glitches and The Fallen | Mini Reviews

I wanted to review these two books, but I didn’t really have enough to say to post a full review for each, so I thought I’d just put them together.


GlitchesGlitches (The Lunar Chronicles #0.5)
by Marissa Meyer

Genre: Science Fiction/Young Adult
Publication Date: 5 December 2011
Publisher: Tor Books
Pages: 28
Format: Paperback
Source: Gifted

Glitches is the short prequel story to Cinder. It was included at the back of my copy of Cinder, so of course I had to read it. Marissa Meyer is an amazing writer, so I enjoyed reading it. However, it felt a bit unnecessary. There wasn’t much, if any, information given that wasn’t already known from reading Cinder. (I’m not sure, but I think that this story is intended to be read before Cinder, which could explain that.)

I really enjoyed reading about Cinder first joining Adri’s family and her relationship with her stepfather, stepmother, and stepsisters, as well as Iko. And even though I knew that it was coming, I still felt really sad for Cinder when Garan had the plague.

Overall, I really enjoyed Glitches, and I’m excited to continue on with this series.

★ (4/5 Stars)


The Fallen

The Fallen (The Enemy #5)
by Charlie Higson

Genre: Horror/Young Adult
Publication Date: 10 June 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 533
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought

I absolutely love this series, and this fifth installment is no exception.

I think that it’s my least favorite, but I still loved it so much. If you don’t know, this series is about a disease that turns everyone over the age of sixteen into zombie-like creatures that eat children. This book follows the characters from the first novel for the first time since then, which I really liked, because I really like those characters.

This book starts off slow, so it was a bit difficult to get into at first, but then the action kicked in and I was totally immersed in the story. There’s a lot going on, which makes the book captivating and extremely enjoyable. However, I’m not sure I particularly like where the story is going at this point, but I’ll have to wait for the future books in order to decide.

This book was super amazing, and I definitely recommend everyone read this series. Seriously. Do it.

★★★ (5/5 Stars)


I really enjoyed both of these books, but then again, I knew I would like them even before reading them. Have you read either of these? If so, let me know your thoughts on them by leaving me a comment below.

~ RJ

4 thoughts on “Glitches and The Fallen | Mini Reviews

Leave a Reply

