Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

Scarlet

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)
by Marissa Meyer

Genre: Science Fiction/Young Adult (dystopia and fantasy-ish also)
Publication Date: 5 February 2013
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 332
Format: eBook
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads): Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

MyThoughts

Scarlet was a decent sequel to Cinder, but it left me unsatisfied and wanting more. There were a lot of good things about this book, but there were a lot of things that I didn’t really enjoy.

One thing that I really enjoy about this series is the writing. I really like Meyer’s writing style, and she does a very good job at drawing the reader into the story. There was never a moment where I felt bored. Another thing that I enjoyed was how Meyer weaved in parts from the original Little Red Riding Hood story while still making Scarlet feel original and unique.

I also enjoyed how the different storylines began to intersect and intertwine with each other. We have Cinder’s story, Scarlet’s story, and Kai’s story, and it was really entertaining to read about them connecting with each other (particularly Cinder and Scarlet’s). Intertwining storlines is one of my favorite tropes in books, and Meyer does an excellent job at it.

However, despite the many things I enjoyed about Scarlet, there were still a few things that I didn’t really like. The first of these things is Wolf. For the entire novel, we were unsure of whether or not we could trust him, and it went back and forth so many times that I found it annoying. Furthermore, the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf felt unrealistic and it was almost laughable at the end.

Another thing that I didn’t like was that toward the end of the novel, I found myself losing interest in Scarlet. While I wasn’t bored, I was more definitely much more intrigued with Cinder’s and Kai’s chapters. There stories were just much more interesting to me, and I wish I had enjoyed Scarlet’s arc more than I did.

All in all, Scarlet is an okay sequel to Cinder, but it could have been so much better. Even though I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book, I still am excited to continue on with the series and plan to do so immediately.

★ (3/5 Stars)


Well, that was my review of Scarlet. If you’ve read this book, let me know your thoughts by commenting below! Thanks for reading and bye for now!

~ RJ

4 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

  1. I felt the same way about Scarlet. Wasn’t a huge fan of it the way I was of Cinder, but I really enjoyed Cress. Cress was probably my favorite of the series so far. I enjoyed it much more than Cinder and Scarlet. I’ve got Fairest on hold at the library for my ereader, just waiting for my copy to come in. I’ve got reviews for all 3 on my blog if you want to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

