Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

CressCress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)
by Marissa Meyer

Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction/Fantasy
Publication Date: 4 February 2014
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 437
Format: eBook
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads): In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

MyThoughts

I really, really enjoyed Cress. While I still love Cinder more, this was loads better than Scarlet. I hardly had any problems with this installment in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Marissa Meyer’s writing style is excellent. She does a really great job at drawing you in and making it next to impossible to put the book down. This book is very entertaining and not once did I feel bored. I love how the plot lines intersect and how Meyer weaves together Rapunzel’s story with Cress’s.

The characters in this series are perfect. Cinder, Kai, and Iko, of course, I love. While I didn’t really like Thorne’s character in Scarlet, he really grew on me in this one. In fact, I like pretty much all of the characters (well, the ones I’m supposed to like anyways)…except for Wolf. Wolf’s character is irritating and annoying and I honestly can not stand him, and I understand that that is an unpopular opinion, but whatever. I really enjoyed Cress’s character as well, and I really liked the romance between her and Thorne (it is much, much better than Scarlet and Wolf’s). Queen Levana is like the perfect villain. She’s dangerous and wicked and terrifying and overall extremely entertaining to read about.

I can’t say much else without spoiling too much, but this was an excellent sequel. I’m so excited for Winter to come out, and to read Fairest as well.


I hope you enjoyed my review of Cress by Marissa Meyer. If you haven’t started this series yet, I definitely recommend it. (Also, happy Valentine’s Day!)

~ RJ

7 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

  1. Omg, you don’t like Wolf? How omg he’s so sweet and adorable I love Wolf, and his relationship with Scarlet is so perfect, they have the whole tomato thing like that’s the most adorable thing. Lol sorry, I just love them. I actually didn’t like Cress and Thorne’s romance, I wouldn’t put it as a romance really, Cress was just obsessed and it was annoying, I didn’t like her character much. Also, Scarlet is my favorite book (: but at least we both love the series, and Cinder and Kai (they’re OtP) and Thorne 💕

    Like

  2. CINDER AND KAI <333 Totally my otp. I really liked Cress better than Scarlet too, though that opinion just may have come from me reading Cress first, thinking it came before Scarlet.
    Also, Cress was so sweet and I loved the moments where the plots started clicking with the fairy tales 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

