Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes | Book Review

Rebel SpringRebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2)
by Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Publication Date: 3 December 2013
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 401
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads):
Note: This summary contains spoilers for the first book in this series. If you haven’t read it, I’d recommend skipping to the next section of the review.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over….
At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.

MyThoughts

Rebel Spring was a major improvement from Falling Kingdoms. The first book was good, but this one was just so much better in my opinion.

This book was full of “what the hell” moments. There were many times that something would happen and I would be completely caught off guard. Furthermore, a lot of characters die (and by a lot I mean a lot), and I was shocked at almost all of them.

Speaking of characters, I really liked a lot of the characters. The four main characters from the first book return, but we are also introduced to a variety of new ones. Princess Cleiona is so much better in this book than the previous. While in Falling Kingdoms I wanted to strangle her, in this book I felt myself growing more and more attached to her character. I still really like Jonas, and Magnus was much better in this book as well. Lucia, however, was irritating and angsty and I didn’t really care for her too much. In this book, we’re introduced to Lysandra, who is a complete and total badass and I love her so much. My least favorite character was by far Aron; I just hate him so so so much that I just can’t with him.

I really enjoy how effortlessly Morgan Rhodes is able to write multiple points of view. I really love when books contain multiple storylines that intertwine, and this book definitely does a really good job at doing just that.

I have just two complaints with this book. The first is that the first half of the book is kind of slow going, and while I really enjoyed it, I found that it wasn’t really drawing me in the way I wanted it to. However, it really picked up toward the end and it was impossible to put down. My other complaint is the romance. I can’t say much without spoiling, but there are at least four boys interested in the same girl. The romance is rally complex and it just feels a bit awkward and unnatural. I really hope that it doesn’t become overbearing.

Overall, this book was really well done and I’m definitely excited to pick up Gathering Darkness soon.

★ (4/5 Stars)


 I hope you enjoyed my review of Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes. If you’ve read this book, let me know how you liked it by leaving a comment below. Bye for now!

~ RJ

3 thoughts on “Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes | Book Review

Leave a Reply

