Champion by Marie Lu | Book Review

Champion (Legend #3)champion
by Marie Lu

Genre: Dystopia/Young Adult
Publication Date: 5 November 2013
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Pages: 369
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads): He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

MyThoughts

I hate to say it, but Champion was quite a disappointment. After really enjoying the first book, and even though the second book wasn’t as good, I was really expecting a lot from this book. Unfortunately, it didn’t deliver.

So many things about this book irritated me. The first thing that really bothered me was on page 12. Day is narrating, and he says “An exceptional meeting of great importance? Ever heard so many fancy words in one sentence?” The fanciest word in that sentence is “exceptional,” and even that isn’t even that fancy of a word.  Another thing that really bothered me was Eden. He’s only ten years old, but his dialogue is so unnatural. No ten year old talks like he does. It was extremely difficult for me to suspend my disbelief enough for me to see Eden as a believable character. Also, the whole thing about Antarctica was actually really dumb and laughable.

Furthermore, it bothered me that the plot didn’t seem to really wrap-up. For three books, we learn about this conflict with the Colonies, and unless I missed it, the conflict wasn’t resolved in any way, shape, or form. I have no idea what happened with the Colonies and the Republic, and I wish that Marie Lu did a better job at explaining what happened.

I don’t want to focus on only the negatives, though. There were a few parts about this book that I somewhat enjoyed. For one, I really enjoyed learning more about different parts of the world (even though, as I mentioned before, the part about Antarctica was really dumb). I also really enjoy sad, depressing endings to books, so this ending really appealed to me. Furthermore, as with the previous two books, this was extremely fast paced, and I read it super quickly. Marie Lu does a really good job at pacing her novels so that you can breeze through them.

Despite the positives, however, this book’s negatives really stood out. Overall, I was very disappointed with Champion, I am sad to say. I still plan on reading Marie Lu’s The Young Elites, however, but I think I’ll go into it with low expectations.

 (2/5 Stars)

One thought on “Champion by Marie Lu | Book Review

Leave a Reply

