Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes | Book Review

gathering darknessGathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3)
by Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: 9 December 2014
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 409
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads): Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred—the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic. . . .

MyThoughts

Honestly, this series just keeps getting better and better. Gathering Darkness is definitely the best book in this series so far.

This series has become so unpredictable, and I love it. While I was reading it, I knew that something big was going to happen, but I didn’t know what. There are so many character deaths, and you never know if you’re favorite is going to make it or not. There was a character that I was so sure was going to die, and they didn’t; and there was another character that I would have sworn would have lived, but they were killed off.

The writing style of this series and this book is so good; Rhodes does a really good job at drawing you in and not letting you go. It took me a while to read this book, but that was not at the fault of the writing (it was mainly because of school). Pretty much every moment I wasn’t reading this book I was thinking about the book. And, as I’ve said in my reviews of the previous two books, Rhodes is an expert at writing multiple points of view and connecting storylines.

The one thing I don’t particularly like about the book is how perfect all the characters are. They’re all beautiful and badass, which is kind of unrealistic. And at least four guys are in love with Cleo, which is also kind of annoying. But, because I love all the characters, I can look past these faults.

Overall, I really, really enjoyed this book. I’m so looking forward to the next book in this series. Unfortunately, I have to wait until December.

4.5 star

One thought on “Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes | Book Review

  1. […] This series is just wonderful. I love fantasy books a lot, and Morgan Rhodes consistently delivers with these ones. Each book is better than the last, which is so rare but definitely appreciated. It’s a high fantasy about three warring kingdoms. I love how Morgan Rhodes weaves together multiple storylines and multiple perspectives so well. There are three books out, and the fourth one comes out in December. I think it’s going to be a six book series, which means there’s still a lot of time for you to catch up. I have reviews of all of the books, which you can check out here: [ Falling Kingdoms / Rebel Spring / Gathering Darkness ] […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

