The Hunted by Charlie Higson | Book Review + Discussion

The HuntedThe Hunted (The Enemy #6)
by Charlie Higson

Genre: Horror/Young Adult
Publication Date: 2 June 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 353
Format: eBook
Source: Bought

Synopsis (from Goodreads): (Note: This synopsis contains minor spoilers for previous books in the series.) 

The sickness struck everyone sixteen and older. First it twisted their minds; next it ravaged their bodies. Now the sickos roam the streets, crazed and hungry for young flesh. Ella’s friends had told her that the country would be safer than the city. They were wrong. Now they’re dead and Ella’s all alone–alone, that is, except for her silent rescuer, Scarface. But she doesn’t even know if he’s a kid or a grown-up. Back in London, Ed is determined to find Ella and keep his promise to Small Sam that he will reunite sister and brother. But getting out of town has never been more dangerous. It seems that every sicko in the country is coming from all directions, almost as if they’re being summoned to the capital. Will anything be able to stop the invading horde?

MyThoughts
(This part of the review is spoiler-free)

Once again, I absolutely love this series, and while this wasn’t my favorite in the series, it was still really, really good. This part of the review is probably going to be pretty short, because there’s only so many times I can say “I love this series.” If you want to know how much I love this series, you can check out my reviews on the previous books. But, just so you know, I love this series a lot.

In this penultimate installment, Higson does a really good job at developing the world and his characters. We find out a lot more about the disease in this book, and while there are still questions left unanswered, I’m sure those will be answered in the final book. This book centers mainly around Ella and Ed. Ed is probably my favorite character in the series, so I was definitely happy about that.

That’s all I can really say without spoiling this book. Just know that this book was SO GOOD. Please, I am begging all of you to read this series. It’s so good.

Discussion
(This part of the review contains spoilers)

Okay, first up let’s talk about characters. There are so many characters in this series, so I’m jut going to talk about the ones who stood out to me I really love Ed, as I’ve said in most of my reviews. I’ve liked him ever since he first showed up in book 2. I had mixed feelings about Josa; at first I hated her because she was a bitch and I hated Tyler, but she started to grow on me. She seems like she might play a pretty big role in the next book. Ella is really sweet and nice and does not deserve to be stuck in this world. Malik made his return, which was a huge surprise to me, and I felt really bad for him throughout the whole book. Finally, I really wish Shadowman was in this book, because he’s definitely one of my favorite characters. Hopefully he’ll be in the next one a lot.

When Macca died I was shocked. I love how Charlie Higson writes his deaths and action scenes: they literally come out of nowhere and when Macca got attacked, I literally had to put down the book and think about what just happened.

I really liked the “Races.” I thought that they were interesting and they were fun to read about. Similarly, I enjoyed the whole aspect of those six camps and how they were sort of connected but not really. It was really interesting to read about how they interacted and how each differed from each other.

Finally, the cliffhanger. Why? Also, if Sam really is dead, I’m actually going to be irritated because this whole book was about them finding Ella to bring back to Sam, and if Sam is dead, then the whole thing was a waste. But I’ll also probably cry. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

That’s it for my discussion. I’m pretty bad at writing this part, because I never know what to include. Hopefully I’ll get better at it eventually.

5 star

Thank you for reading my review of The Hunted. I’m so excited for the last book to come out. Anyway, that’s all for today! Adios!

~ RJ

3 thoughts on “The Hunted by Charlie Higson | Book Review + Discussion

Leave a Reply

