All My Unread Books! (Part 1: Physical Books)

Recently, I reorganized my bookshelf, and I made the whole top shelf only books that I haven’t read yet. I thought that it would be interesting to go over all the books on my shelf that I own but have never read. I also decided that I would split it into two posts: one for my physical books and one for the books on my nook, so that this post won’t be too long.

DSCN0413

I have 22 books on my shelf that I haven’t read yet, which actually isn’t that much (though that number will likely grow soon).


1. A GAME OF THRONES, BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN
2. A CLASH OF KINGS, BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN
3. A STORM OF SWORDS, BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN
4. A FEAST FOR CROWS, BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN

DSCN0416

I bought these four books in a boxed set about two years ago, but I still haven’t read them. I started the first book, but it became a bit tedious, so I ended up putting it down after reading about 200 pages. I still do want to read these though, but I’m not sure when I’ll get around to reading them.

5. THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING, BY J.R.R. TOLKIEN

I’ve had this book for a while as well, and I honestly don’t know when or if I’m going to read it. My English teacher told me that I should just watch the movies, so I might end up doing that, but I still kind of want to read the books.

6. THE GIVER, BY LOIS LOWRY

I still want to watch the movie, mainly because Taylor Swift is in it (even though I’m pretty sure she has a very minor role). I like reading the books before watching the movie (but it’s not that big of a deal to me), but I read Gathering Blue by this author, and found it pretty boring, so who knows?

7. M IS FOR MAGIC, BY NEIL GAIMAN

DSCN0418

I haven’t read anything by this author, but I really want to. I own this random collection of short stories by him, and I’ve read some of them, but haven’t ever read the whole thing. I want to though, because I’ve heard nothing but good things about this author.

8. FLIPPED, BY WENDELIN VAN DRAANEN

This book is so old, and I’ve had it for a while, but I sort of forgot I had it until I cleaned my room recently and found it. I don’t know if I’ll ever read it, but if I want to, then I can.

9. THE HUNT FOR THE SEVENTH, BY CHRISTINE MORTON-SHAW

This is another book I’ve had for forever, but I’ve never read it. I’ve never heard anyone talk about it, I don’t think anyone else has ever read it, and I have no idea at all what it’s about. I’m pretty sure I received it as a gift, but as of right now I have no intention of reading it.

10. THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA: THE LAST BATTLE, BY C.S. LEWIS

I’ve read two books in this series, and I own three. Of the three I own, this is the only one I haven’t read. I really want to read this series from start to finish, and I’m planning on doing so pretty soon.

11. THE BOOK THIEF, BY MARKUS ZUSAK

I have really mixed feelings on this book. I’ve had it for a while, and I’ve heard it’s really really really good, but every time I start it I can never get into it. I really want to read it though, and I’ve been meaning to recently, but keep putting it off to read other things.

12. JOYLAND, BY STEPHEN KING

DSCN0419

This is my mom’s book, but I sort of took it from her. It sounds really interesting and cool and like something I’d enjoy, but for some reason I’ve never picked it up. I definitely will eventually, but I’m not sure when exactly.

13. THE GREAT GATSBY, BY F. SCOTT FITZGERALD

This book is from my mom’s school; she “borrowed” it from them so I could read it. This happened like two years ago, and I still haven’t read it and we haven’t given it back. Oops. I think I’ll have to read it next year for school anyway, so I’ll finally read it.

14. THE KILL ORDER, BY JAMES DASHNER

Started this. Hated it. Never finished it. Never plan to.

15. ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL, BY JESSE ANDREWS

I just got this recently, and I think it’ll probably be one of the next things I read. I actually had no interest in reading this until I saw the movie trailer, which made me really want to see the movie, but I also want to read the book.

16. THE DOOR WITHIN, BY WAYNE THOMAS BATSON

Once again, this is a book I’ve had forever, but I’ve never heard anything about it. I don’t know if I’ll ever read it, but if I have nothing else to read, I might pick it up someday.

17. MASTERS OF MYSTERY, EDITED BY MARTIN RADCLIFFE

This is a collection of classic (I think) mystery stories by a bunch of different authors, including Edgar Allen Poe. I’m probably never going to read the whole thing, to be honest.

18. VIRALS, BY KATHY REICHS
19. SEIZURE, BY KATHY REICHS

I got these two books as gifts from my mom a while ago. I started the first one, but put it down because it didn’t quite capture my interest. However, I want to read these eventually, and so I might pick them up soon.

20. THE SCORPIO RACES, BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

I bought this book somewhat recently, and I definitely am planning on reading it fairly soon. It sounds really interesting and I’ve heard pretty good things about it, so I have nothing to lose.

21. RAGS AND BONES, EDITED BY MELISSA MARR AND TIM PRATT

DSCN0420

This is a collection of short stories by a bunch of famous authors, including Holly Black, Rick Yancey, and Neil Gaiman. If I’m not mistaken, they’re all fairy tale retellings, so it sounds really cool. I’ve read a few of the stories, and I want to eventually read all of them.

22. THE DA VINCI CODE, BY DAN BROWN

Last but not least, this one. I’ve had it for a while (surprise, surprise), and I started it at one point, but I got really confused. But I think if I start it again, I’ll be able to understand it, so I want to read it. But it’s also a second book in a series (I think?) so I’m not really sure.


Well, those are all the unread books currently on my shelf. I’m sure I’ll buy more soon, but as of right now, these are it. If you’ve read any of these books, comment and let me know your thoughts on them!

~ RJ

One thought on “All My Unread Books! (Part 1: Physical Books)

Leave a Reply

