I Am The Mission by Allen Zadoff | Book Review + Discussion

I Am The MissionI Am The Mission (The Unknown Assassin #2)
by Allen Zadoff

Genre: Young Adult/Action/Thriller
Publication Date: 17 June 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown
Pages: 333
Format: eBook
Source: Bought

Synopsis (from Goodreads): He was the perfect assassin. No name. No past. No remorse. Perfect, that is, until he began to ask questions and challenge his orders. Now The Program is worried that their valuable soldier has become a liability.

And so Boy Nobody is given a new mission. A test of sorts. A chance to prove his loyalty.

His objective: Take out Eugene Moore, the owner of an extremist military training camp for teenagers. It sounds like a simple task, but a previous operative couldn’t do it. He lost the mission and is presumed dead. Now Boy Nobody is confident he can finish the job. Quickly.

But when things go awry, Boy Nobody finds himself lost in a mission where nothing is as it seems: not The Program, his allegiances, nor the truth.

The riveting second book in Allen Zadoff’s Boy Nobody series delivers heart-pounding action and a shocking new twist that makes Boy Nobody question everything he has believed.

MyThoughts
(This part of the review will be spoiler-free)

Allen Zadoff’s I Am The Mission is a fast-paced and fun sequel. I really enjoyed reading it, and I flew through it.

This installment follows Boy Nobody/Daniel on another mission. Zadoff does a great job at telling the reader a bit more about The Program, but still leaves enough unanswered questions that I just NEED MORE NOW. Luckily, the third and final book is already out, so I hopefully won’t have to wait too long to read it.

This book is intense. Warning: don’t start reading it before bed. I made this mistake, and I accidentally stayed up until 1 A.M., finishing the last 200 pages or so in one sitting. And I had to wake up early the next morning, so that was fun. Don’t do it. Trust me. This book draws you in and makes it nearly impossible to put down. The chapters are extremely short and fast-paced, leaving you wanting more and more until you reach the end.

Discussion
(This part of the review contains spoilers)

Let’s start by talking about the characters. The main character is Daniel, who goes by a different name on each mission. There’s also Moore, who is Daniel’s “target.” We also have Lee and Miranda, Moore’s children, who both played important roles, and Francisco. Less important characters include Father and Mother, Mike, and Howard.

Daniel/Boy Nobody is the protagonist. Each mission he goes by a different name, but this is his name for this installment. He’s badass and smart and knows how to fight. I really enjoy reading from his perspective for the most part, but there are sometimes when he annoys me. He’s arrogant, but I don’t think that was Allen Zadoff’s intent when writing him. But, since he’s the perfect soldier, I guess he has a right to be arrogant.

Moving on to Moore, who Daniel is assigned to kill. He owns Camp Liberty, which is camp that trains teenagers into soldiers. Essentially, he’s creating his own army. I didn’t really hate him, but I didn’t love him either. I didn’t really care much about him at all, to be honest. He doesn’t play that large of a role, and when he died, I didn’t really care that much.

I actually really liked both Lee and Miranda, especially Miranda. Towards the end, I started to hate Lee, because he’s just as bad as his father, if not worse. But at the beginning of the novel, I liked him and was hoping that he and Daniel would be friends. When he died, I saw it coming and didn’t really care that much. Miranda, on the other hand, I absolutely loved. I totally shipped her with Daniel, and when she died, I sort of sat in shock for a few moments, because I was expecting and hoping that in the end she would go with Daniel, but alas, that didn’t happen.

Francisco was an interesting character. It took me a while to realize that he was the previous Program soldier, but I started putting it together at the Hunt, when Daniel noticed that he was calm when he shouldn’t have been. Part of me thought that Daniel would go with him, and when Daniel killed him, I was a bit surprised. I personally think that Daniel should have joined Francisco, but whatever. Regardless, I’m interested in what he said about the other Program soldiers; if he’s correct, that means there are at least 2 we haven’t seen, so I hope they’ll show up in the last book.

Now let’s talk about the side characters. The ones that stand out to me the most are Father and Mother. I don’t trust them at all. I’m pretty sure that they want Daniel dead, but I’m not 100% certain. These two are willing to do whatever it takes to get what they want, and they remind me of Percy and Amanda from Nikita (which is one of the best shows of all time, by the way). Mike is another character I don’t trust, because I’m pretty sure he’s working with Father and Mother to kill Daniel. Finally, we have Howard, who I love. He’s so funny, and provides comedic relief to the intensity of the book.

Moving on from the characters, I want to briefly talk about the plot. This book is a bit different from the last one, because the original mission only takes about two thirds of the book. The final third is Daniel having to go back to kill Lee and Miranda. I really enjoyed the plot of this one, because it was both entertaining and naturally answered questions about the Program without seeming forced. I think my favorite scene was when Daniel went back to the safe house and the family was there, and then the soliders came. It was intense, and really showed just how badass Daniel is.

As I mentioned before, Allen Zadoff’s writing style is amazing. He does an amazing job at drawing you in and making it nearly impossible to put the book down. His writing feels a bit juvenile, but not particularly in a bad way. There was never a time when I felt bored while reading this book.

4.5 star

Well, that’s it for this review! If you’ve read this book, let me know what you think of it. If you haven’t I definitely recommend picking up this series. Both the first book and this one are really fun reads. Thanks for reading!

~ RJ

2 thoughts on “I Am The Mission by Allen Zadoff | Book Review + Discussion

Leave a Reply

