The Blogger Recognition Award!

BR_Award

Hey everyone! I was recently nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by the amazing Josephine @ Josie’s Book Corner. Her blog is absolutely amazing and you should definitely check it out. I’m so honored to have been nominated for this! This award was created by Eve @ Edge of Night, and you can click here for the original award post.

The Rules

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
    • Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

My Story!

I started this blog nearly one year ago in July of 2014 (this Friday, actually, will be exactly one year). I had been wanting to start a book blog for a while, because I loved watching Booktube but didn’t want to make videos of my own, so I felt like this was a good alternative. I love reading and I love talking about books, so it just felt natural to start a book blog.

It took a lot of thinking, but in the end, starting this blog has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I’ve been reading a lot more than I did before this blog, and I’ve been able to connect with people who have similar interests as me.

I think I’ve come a long way since starting this blog. My first posts were absolutely terrible, but as time went on, I began putting more and more effort into them in order to make them as good as I can. And I like to think I am still improving.

My Advice!

I’m terrible at giving advice, but I’m going to try.

I want to start by saying if you are thinking about starting a blog but are unsure about it, do it! It can’t hurt to try it out, and you’ve got nothing to lose. It’s a lot of fun, at least in my opinion. You might not like it, but you can’t know unless you try it out.

Try to make friends! There are a lot of amazing people who have similar interests as you. You just have to find them! Talk to people, comment. Step out of your comfort zone.

Finally, put effort into your posts. A lot of my older posts are just terrible, because I hurried to write them, and it was evident from the final product. Try to write your posts in advance, because that way you’re not rushing and you can put more work into them. This is what I try to do now, and I think my posts have improved tenfold as a result.

I Nominate

Always Opinionated Girl

Ashley @ Words We Heart

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Nirvana @ Quenching the Quill

Kim @ By Hook Or By Book

Books Over People

Ashley @ Falling Down the Book Hole

Emily @ Books & Cleverness

Sorry I only nominated 9… But you are all wonderful bloggers and I love reading your posts! Everyone should go follow all of these amazing people if you haven’t already!

~ RJ

One thought on “The Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. Happy pre-emptive blogoversary, RJ!

    The only bad advice is none at all (or something along those lines). Either way, experimentation is something I fully agree with! You’d never know if you don’t at least try, right? Except for maybe bathing in a tub full of spiders or something–yeaaaaah nope, that is–ugh, just no.

    Here’s to another year of forward-thinking change and experimentation!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

