An Abundance of Katherines by John Green | Book Review

Book review


abundance of katherinesAn Abundance of Katherines
by John Green

Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
Publication Date: 21 September 2006
Publisher: Dutton Books
Pages: 229
Format: eBook
Source: Bought

Summary (from Goodreads): Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

MyThoughts

Okay, this review is going to be pretty short, because honestly this book just wasn’t very good or very memorable. I thought it was definitely the worse of John Green’s books, and I think a lot of other people feel the same way.

I went into this book hoping to like it but kinda expecting it to not be that great, because I had heard so many times that it was John Green’s worse book. But I definitely did not expect it to be as bad as it was. I mean, it wasn’t terrible, but it was pretty boring. Like, really boring. I had to force myself through it and I didn’t really care about the story.

I don’t really remember any of the characters. Colin was a pretty standard character, and his friend (I honestly don’t even remember his name), was a generic character that was pretty much there for “diversity.” I saw the ending coming a mile away; it was predictable and obvious.

Also, I’m pretty sure the math was dumb and wrong. The book centers around Colin trying to create a formula to predict relationships, which is just as dumb as it sounds.

All in all, I was very disappointed with this book. I was hoping it would be a lot better, and was expecting more from John Green, who wrote 3 other really good books. I’m glad I didn’t read this one first, because otherwise I probably wouldn’t have read any of his other books, to be honest.

2 star


Well, that’s my review for An Abundance of Katherines. Obviously, I didn’t like it. Also, sorry it took me so long to post this, I’ve been going through a blogging and reading slump AGAIN, which is also why I haven’t been very active. I literally haven’t read a single book so far this month. Whoops. Anyway, thanks for reading everyone! Bye!

~ RJ

4 thoughts on “An Abundance of Katherines by John Green | Book Review

Leave a Reply

