Favorite Books So Far This Year | Top Ten Tuesday #19

TopTenTuesday Banner GreyWhite

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about the feature here. This week is a freebie, so I thought I’d talk a bit about my favorite books that I’ve read this year so far.

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I loved this book. So much. Not only was the writing and the story captivating and heartbreaking, the illustrations were absolutely beautiful as well.

2 & 3. The Hunted and The Fallen by Charlie Higson

This series is so amazing. I can’t stress this enough. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly, highly recommend it. These books were so good and everything is coming together so nicely and I love it.

4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

This book was amazing as well. I never wrote a full review on it, which is kinda sad. But I think this is my favorite Rainbow Rowell book so far of the three I’ve read. I just love the characters so much.

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Honestly, the entire Lunar Chronicles belongs up here. Like, damn. This series is so great. I read every single book that’s out this year, and I am eagerly awaiting the final installment. This book and this series are just so amazing that I can’t believe I put off reading it for so long, but I’m so glad that I got around to it this year.

6. In The Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

I talk about this trilogy a lot. I think it’s one of my favorite YA dystopia trilogies. I love everything about this series, and even though this book was a bit slow, it was still absolutely amazing and a great ending to the trilogy.

7 & 8. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone/Chamber of Secrets

Does this count? Why not. Obviously these were amazing. I (re)read these back in January, and I’m a bit upset I haven’t read more of the series this year. But, of course, these books are absolutely perfect.

9. Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

This series is getting so freaking good. So much is going down that after every other chapter I’m literally sitting in shock. No one is safe, and that’s what I love so much about it.

10. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

I miss the Shadowhunter books. This was nice to read to help ease the suffering wait until Lady Midnight. While I didn’t absolutely love all of the stories, overall, the book was amazing.


Well that’s it for this Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks for reading everyone!

~ RJ

One thought on “Favorite Books So Far This Year | Top Ten Tuesday #19

Leave a Reply

