The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore | Book Review + Discussion

The Fate of TenThe Fate of Ten (Lorien Legacies #6)
by Pittacus Lore

Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
Publication Date: 1 September 2015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Gifted

Synopsis (from Goodreads): The sixth book in the thrilling, action-packed, New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! For years the Garde have fought the Mogadorians in secret. Now all of that has changed. The invasion has begun. If the Garde can’t find a way to stop the Mogs, humanity will suffer the same fate as the Lorien: annihilation.

There is still hope. When the Elders sent the Garde to Earth, they had a plan—one which the Garde are finally starting to understand. In the climax of The Revenge of Seven, a group of the Garde traveled to an ancient pyramid in Mexico known to their people as the Sanctuary. There they awoke a power that had been hidden within our planet for generations. Now this power can save the world . . . or destroy it. It will all depend on who wields it.

MyThoughts

The Fate of Ten is the penultimate installment in the Lorien Legacies series. The previous book was just okay and was a bit of a disappointment, but this was a huge improvement over that. While The Revenge of Seven lacked a lot of what I loved about the series, this book brought all of that back. I think that this is my favorite in the series so far.

I absolutely love the characters in this book. We get three points of view: John, Six, and a little bit of Ella. This was an effective use of multiple points of view, because it allowed the reader to get just enough perspectives to get the whole story without being an overwhelming amount.

The plot was so much better than that of the last book. There was way more action and it was freaking intense. I couldn’t put it down. I think that’s what really makes this book for me: the action. The characters are decent, the writing is okay, but the plot captivates me and practically forces me to keep reading.

Like I said, the writing in this series is okay. It’s easy to read and I flew through this book (as with all of the other books in the series), but something about it just isn’t great. I can’t really describe it, and it may not bother others like it does me. But it works for this series, which is what really matters.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, as you can tell. I’m so excited for the final installment, and I will be eagerly waiting until I can read it next year.

Discussion

Okay, now let’s talk more in depth about this amazing book.

I’m going to start with the characters first. I liked reading from John’s point of view the most, because the majority of the action took place where he was. I love his character so much, because he’s just a good person, or alien. He always tries to do what’s good, and it was interesting to read about his struggles, like when he was trying to save everyone, even though he can barely even walk himself.

I love Six. So much. She’s definitely my favorite character in the whole series. I loved reading from her point of view, because even though it took a while for the real action to get started for her, I just love her character so much that I didn’t mind; I just like reading about her. She’s so badass and her Legacies are definitely my favorite.

Next, Ella. We didn’t get much of her point of view, but I think the parts that were written in her point of view were necessary. It was a bit weird how we had like two chapters from her perspective and the rest from just John and Six, but I also think if there were more Ella chapters, I’d have been over it. 

Now, the other, non-viewpoint characters. I know everyone loves Nine, but I honestly can’t bring myself to like him as much as everyone else does. I honestly kinda hate him. I hate Five, but I also feel bad for him and hope that he gets his redemption in the final book. Marina is another one of my favorite characters; I love her so much and I think her Legacies are pretty cool (no pun intended). None of the characters really irritated me, which is good, except for Daniela, just a little bit. She was a bit too…cocky (I don’t know if that’s the best word to describe her, but whatever)… for me. But since she didn’t play a huge part, it didn’t bother me that much.

In this novel, two major things happen. One, we learn that John is the new Pittacus Lore. Honestly, is anyone surprised? I saw that coming from when we first learned that the Garde are the new Elders. I’m so excited to see how this plays out in the final installment. Two, Sarah dies. This was honestly such a shock to me and I didn’t see it coming at all and THAT CLIFFHANGER THOUGH. I can’t right now. After finishing the book I had to sit for a moment just to gather and understand what the hell happened. I loved it.

That’s all for my discussion. Sorry this was so freaking long, but I had a lot to say about this book. It was amazing, as I’ve made clear already.

5 star

Thanks for reading my review/discussion of The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore! If you’ve read it, let me know your thoughts!

~ RJ

Leave a Reply

