September 2015 Wrap-Up!

Hey everyone! Today I’m going to be doing my September Wrap-Up. This month was a much better reading/blogging month than August. I’m trying out a new format for this wrap-up, so let me know what you think. Anyway, let’s get started!

Books I Read

This month, I read five books, meaning it was overall a pretty good reading month.

JoylandJoyland by Stephen King

The first book I read this month was Joyland by Stephen King. I really enjoyed this book and it was a good one to pull me out of my reading slump. Despite the atrocious cover, the writing and characters were both amazing and it kept me up all night because I needed to know what was going to happen next.

This was my second Stephen King novel, and I am definitely planning on reading more in the future.

I gave this book 4/5 stars.

[Full Review]

Landline by Rainbow RowellLandline

I then decided to read Landline by Rainbow Rowell next. This was such a cute and fun read that I really enjoyed. I flew through this book, because I was just so invested in the characters and the story so much. It wasn’t my favorite of the three Rainbow Rowell books I’ve read so far, but it was still really enjoyable. I still have to read Attachments, and I’m definitely planning on doing so very soon.

I gave this book 4/5 stars.

[Full Review]

TThe Fate of Tenhe Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore

Next, I picked up a book that I’ve been anticipating for a while: The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore. After the disappointment that was The Revenge of Seven, I wasn’t sure how much I would enjoy this one, but let me tell you. It delivered. I really, really enjoyed this book. Like, a lot. The action and the fight scenes were all on point and it was gripping and captivating until the very end.

I gave this book 5/5 stars.

[Full Review]


Boy Meets Boy by David LevithanBoy Meets Boy

Then, I read Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan. I’ve previously read two books by Levithan, and I really enjoyed both of them., so I decided to pick up his debut novel. However, I unfortunately had mixed feelings about this one. While I appreciated the message of the book, and it was quick and easy to read, the whole thing sort of bothered me. For being a contemporary, it’s totally unrealistic, annoyingly so. The romance didn’t captivate me and I didn’t care about, like, any of the characters.

I gave this book 2/5 stars.

The Copper GauntletThe Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Last but not least, I read The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. This book was wonderful. I absolutely love the direction this series is going in. The characters are all amazing (except for Jasper…ugh) and this was another quick read that I read in like a day.

While the first book in the series was better in my opinion, this one was still entertaining and fun to read.

I gave this book 4/5 stars.

Books Read: 5
Pages Read: 1498
Average Rating: 3.8/5.0
Favorite Book of the Month: The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore

On The Blog

This month, I didn’t really post anything other than book reviews. I did post a book haul that was honestly long overdue because it had been like three months since my last one. I’m also probably going to be doing another one pretty soon.

I’m definitely going to be trying to post more in October, and post a variety of things instead of just reviews.

In Real Life

Honestly, school has been killing me and has been taking up so much of my time. But, this is my last week of the quarter! I get a one week break starting at the end of the week, and I am so ready for that. I need it so badly. Plus, today, tomorrow, and Friday are all half days which means I get to get home and sleep earlier. You don’t even understand.

I’m also starting to apply to colleges soon, which is nerve-racking but exciting! I’m really nervous and scared about it, but I’m also kind of excited.

Also, Nanowrimo is coming up soon… And after last year’s failure, I am determined to win this year.


And with that, we end the month of September! Thanks for reading everyone, and I hope you all have a good day/evening/night. Until next time!

~ RJ

5 thoughts on “September 2015 Wrap-Up!

  1. Wonderful wrap up! I’m so glad you enjoyed The Copper Gauntlet. I need to purchase and read that one soon!
    And I totally get your feelings about school. Even though I’ve been on holidays for a week now, I have exams next week and this holiday week didn’t even feel like one *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

