Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review + Discussion

throne of glassThrone of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)
by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: 7 August 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 404
Format: Paperback
Finished Reading: 5 October 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

MyThoughts

This book. THIS BOOK. Why did I wait so long to start this series? This. Freaking. Book.

As you can probably already tell, I really, really enjoyed Throne of Glass, the first book in Sarah J. Maas’s series. Just everything about this book was amazing. It gave me Hunger Games vibes, it gave me Chamber of Secrets vibes, it gave me Goblet of Fire vibes. Though it’s a totally different story than those, certain aspects of this reminded me of them, which is definitely a good thing.

If you haven’t read this yet, I highly recommend that you do so. You won’t regret it.

That’s pretty much it for this section of the review. The following section may contain spoilers, so scroll down at your own risk.

Discussion

Okay, first let’s talk about the characters, which of course are probably the most important aspect of any book. The characters I really want to talk about are Celaena, Chaol, and Dorian.

First, Celaena. She was like, the perfect protagonist (save for one thing that I’ll get into later). She’s a totally kickass and fierce warrior, but she also had a different side to her, one that loves reading and clothes, like an ordinary girl. I really liked how Maas showed the different sides to her, and it made her feel like a much more realistic character. I liked the character development she went through. At the beginning of the book she’s overly arrogant and cocky, but as the story progresses, though she’s still cocky, she isn’t overly so and becomes a bit softer. The one problem I had with Celaena was that she was described over and over again as an assassin, but throughout the entire 400 page book she doesn’t kill a single person. I mean, she’s badass and slays at the Tests, but how am I supposed to believe she’s such a great assassin if there’s no assassinating throughout the whole book?

I love Dorian. He’s definitely my favorite of the two love interests, by far. I think he’s so much better for Celaena than Chaol is, and their relationship throughout the book progressed and developed so well. I love how open and witty they are with each other. Also, you can tell that Dorian really truly cares about Celaena, despite being advised against it. When Celaena asked if she was allowed to go to the library and he responded by giving her books he recently read so they could talk about them, I just couldn’t. And when they danced together at the ball, I didn’t know how badly I wanted that to happen until it did.

Not to say I don’t like Chaol, however. I really liked him, but I still think Dorian is a better choice for Celaena. One of my favorite aspects of the book was the friendship between Chaol and Dorian. They’re like, friendship goals, to be honest. Though I’m interested to see what happens with their friendship as the series progresses and Celaena has to choose one.

I was glad that the love triangle wasn’t overwhelming. Yeah, it was there, but it didn’t seem so important. Without it, the book still would have been great. It just contributed to the plot and enhanced it. Also, it seemed like a natural sort of love triangle, not a forced one, which was definitely appreciated.

Other characters I liked were Nehemia and NoxI absolutely hated Kaltain and Perrington, and I despised Cain and his group. I wanted them all to die (which, thankfully, they did).

Next, let’s talk about the worldWhile not wholly original, it was still an entertaining setting for the plot. I’m interested to see how the world develops more in later installments. Probably my favorite part of the world was the history and the lore, rather than the geography. I liked learning about the first Queen and about magic and a little bit about the gods of the world. There’s still a lot to learn, so I hope we get more information later in the series.

Finally, let’s talk about the plotThe whole aspect of the competition to find the King’s Champion reminded me both of The Hunger Games and Goblet of Fire. It was so fun to read about. I was a little underwhelmed when the first Test turned out to be simple archery, though. The Tests weren’t what I was expecting them to be (I was expecting them to be more like the Triwizard Tournament tasks), but that was fine once I figured out what to expect. The book also reminded me a bit of Chamber of Secrets, what with the unknown monster lurking around the castle.

One of my favorite moments was when Celaena SLAYED Verin at one of the Tests. She dragged him so hard and put him in his place so easily. I loved that she went to Brullo after and told him something along the lines of “give me a real man to fight next time, and maybe I’ll actually try.” SLAY CELAENA SLAY.

I also really liked the final fight scene with Cain, even though it was a bit long and confusing. Even though I like Dorian more, I really liked when Chaol killed Cain in order to save Celaena.

Speaking of Cain, I was surprised when it turned out that he was the killer. I thought that was too obvious, and that Sarah J. Maas was going to pull a plot twist and it turned out to be someone completely unexpected. But then it was revealed that Cain was the killer, and I was like “…oh, okay…” Not that that was a bad thing, but it just seemed way too obvious.

That’s all for my discussion. Sorry this was hella long, but I just really, really loved this book a lot and had lots to say about it. Thanks to everyone who told me to read it!

4.5 star

Thanks for reading my review/discussion of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. If you’ve read it, let me know your thoughts on it so we can talk about it!

~ RJ

5 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review + Discussion

Leave a Reply

