The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | Book Review + Discussion

Hey everybody! Today I’m going to be talking about the wonderful, amazing, fantastic book that is The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. Have I hyped it up enough yet? I think so. Let’s get started!


the sword of summerThe Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1)
by Rick Riordan

Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: 6 October 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover
Finished Reading: 9 October 2015

Summary (from Goodreads): Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

MyThoughts

This book was so amazing. Like honestly absolutely perfection. It was everything that I wanted it to be. As it was a Rick Riordan book, I obviously had very high expectations. I am glad to say that this book not only met my expectations, but it exceeded them.

This book reminded me a lot of the original Percy Jackson series, but in a good way. I loved that it was written in first person POV again, and I really liked that the funny chapter titles were back. However, some of the similarities were a bit too much and at it times it almost felt like I was rereading Percy Jackson. I also liked how the characters were older, more reminiscent of the Heroes of Olympus series. This made it easier to connect with the main characters; because they were closer to my age, they were much more relatable.

Speaking of characters, the characters in this series are absolutely fantastic. I loved all of them, especially Magnus and Sam. I liked Blitzen and Hearthstone as well, and I found it really interesting that two of the main characters are a dwarf and an elf, respectively. I enjoyed the diversity of characters as well. Sam is Muslim, which is something we haven’t seen in any of Rick’s books yet. Because of this, she’s gone through struggles, but she doesn’t let that define her and she’s still a great warrior. And Hearthstone is deaf, but he still tries his hardest.

This book was so funny, probably one of Riordan’s funniest books. I found myself actually laughing multiple times throughout the book. Of course, being a Rick Riordan book, you can expect it to be funny, though.

“Finally, just to make small talk, I asked, ‘So who’s trying to kill me?'”

Riordan has such a well developed writing style that he’s perfected in the ten years of writing these kinds of books. Despite being a nearly 500 page book, I finished it in around three days, because I was so invested in the story and the characters, and Riordan’s writing is so easy to get into. Also, the fact that Annabeth was in this book just slayed me so hard. I loved the scenes with her in it.

I also really liked all the pop culture references in the book. Everything from Taylor Swift to Game of Thrones is mentioned in the book. I also liked the nods and references to Rick’s other books sprinkled throughout.

“The most unreal thing about the bar was Taylor Swift’s ‘Blank Space’ blasting from the speakers.

‘Dwarves like human music?” I asked Blitzen.

‘You mean humans like our music.'”

I’m eagerly waiting for the next book.

Overall, I loved this book and definitely recommend for everyone to read it, especially if you’re a fan of Riordan’s other works.

Okay, that’s it for the non-spoiler section of the review. Please don’t read the discussion if you haven’t read the book! You really don’t want to be spoiled.

Discussion

This discussion is going to be pretty short, because there’s not much extra that I want to talk about. I mainly just want to talk about the climax and the epilogue.

Before that, though, can we talk about how cool Sam’s hijab is? I mean, it’s super similar to Annabeth’s hat, but still. A hijab that can camouflage you? Pretty amazing.

The climax. When Fenris Wolf smelled someone, I honestly thought (and kind of hoped) it was Annabeth hiding with her invisibility cap. But it turns out it was Odin apparently? I was kind of disappointed, because I really wanted it to be Annabeth. Looking back on it, it wouldn’t have made the most sense, but still. It would’ve been cool. When Gunilla died, I didn’t really feel anything, because she wasn’t really a likable character. Even in the end, she still didn’t really believe Magnus until Surt finally showed up. BUT, when Magnus’s hallmates left Gunilla to fight on his side, I loved that part and internally cheered and couldn’t stop smiling. Scenes like that are among my favorites in all of literature.

After Magnus saves the world, he talks with Annabeth. Their interaction was so frustrating (not in a bad way), and the dramatic irony was killing me. Because we know what Annabeth is, and we know what Magnus is, but they don’t know what each other are and I just wanted them to tell each other. I hope later in the trilogy they’ll tell each other and then they can fight together maybe. I don’t know how it’d work out, but I mean…it probably could, right?

THE EPILOGUE. I didn’t see that coming at all. I was honestly in shock. I KNEW LOKI WAS EVIL. But I was not expecting Randolph to be a traitor. I’m still in shock, to be honest.

5 star

Have you read The Sword of Summer? If so, let me know your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan | Book Review + Discussion

Leave a Reply

