Top 10 Books of 2015

I honestly can’t believe that it is basically the end of the year. Like, the fact that 2016 is less than a week away is just unbelievable. As the year comes to a close, I thought I would talk about my favorite books of the year. The following are my ten favorite books (okay, maybe not exactly ten, because series are a thing) that I read this year. Let’s get started! (Also, these are in no particular order.)


 

1. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell // This book. This book was so wonderful and was absolutely one of my favorites. I loved the characters and when I finished this book it was a bittersweet moment: happy that I read it but sad that it was done.

2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness // I read this book in a day. I loved the illustrations and the story and it was so sad but such a beautiful book. Not only was the writing amazing but the illustrations were as well.

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas // I avoided this book for the longest time, and I’m not really sure why. But I am definitely glad that I finally got around to it. I’m very excited to continue on with the series (but with this reading slump, who knows when that’ll happen?)

4. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan // I love Rick Riordan’s books, and I am actually Riordan trash. I think I’ll read everything he puts out until I am dead. This book was really funny and reminded me a lot of the original Percy Jackson series, which is never a bad thing.

5. In The Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken // The Darkest Minds trilogy is one of my favorites, and this book was a solid conclusion. It took me a little while to get into it, but once I did, I was sold. I love the characters in this series so much and this ending was one of the best as far as dystopian trilogies go. Definitely a better ending than Mockingjay.

6. Joyland by Stephen King // This is the second Stephen King book I read, and I am definitely eager to read more by him. His writing is captivating and this book was hard for me to put down. I’ve heard that this isn’t even his best book, so I’m interested to see what else he has to offer.

7. Landline by Rainbow Rowell // Another Rainbow Rowell book. I really enjoy her writing, and while I did not enjoy this as much as her young adult novels, I still really loved it. Now I have to read Attachments and Carry On. Next year…

8. The Enemy Series by Charlie Higson // This year, I read The Fallen and The Hunted. I talk about this series in like, every post, but I seriously love it so much. I can’t get enough of this series, which sucks, because there is only one book left. If you haven’t read this series, I would wholeheartedly recommend it, because it is absolutely amazing.

9. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare // I don’t think I can ever get enough of the Shadowhunter books, so this was definitely a must-have for me. It helped bridge the gap until Lady Midnight. Which is like, three months away. So close, yet so far. Anyway, these stories are great.

10. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer // And last but definitely not least, The Lunar Chronicles. This is like, my series of the year. I read Cinder all the way back in January and throughout the year I have made my way through Scarlet, Cress, Fairest, as well as the short stories. And I’m currently reading Winter. I absolutely love this series. The characters are great and the story is imaginative and addictive. I love how the different characters’ stories intertwine and come together. Honestly, if you haven’t checked out this series yet, you definitely should.


Well, there you have it. Those were my favorite books that I read this year. Let me know, what was your favorite book of the year? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

~ RJ

 

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

