Anticipated 2016 Releases (January – June) | Top Ten Tuesday #21

Top Ten Tuesday.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about the feature here. This week, the theme is anticipated books of the first half of next year. Without further ado, let’s get started!

Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases of Early 2016

Passenger

1. Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken [January 5] // Honestly, this is probably the book that I am the most excited about. Which is good, because it comes out in one week. After falling in love with Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds series, I am eager to read anything that she puts out. And this just sounds so amazing and I absolutely can not wait to read it. Also, that cover is beautiful.

lady midnight

2. Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare [March 8] // Of course, I am excited for this. I love the Shadowhunters books and I have been anticipating this since City of Heavenly Fire came out. I already love the characters and I already ship Emma and Julian and I am impatiently waiting for this book to come out. And that cover is beautiful.

The Hidden Oracle.jpg

3. The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan [May 3] // So far, the theme of this post seems to be “first books in new series by my favorite authors.” Well, what can you expect? I am Riordan trash and I’ll probably read everything he writes until I am dead. And of course, I have to read this because Percy Jackson will probably (hopefully) make an appearance. The cover isn’t as beautiful, but it’s still cool.

The Last Star.jpg

4. The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey [May 24] // My other favorite author named Rick. This is the last book in The 5th Wave trilogy. I’ve been a fan of this series since the first book came out, and I am definitely excited to see how this wraps up. I wasn’t a huge fan of the second book, so I’m hoping this is much better.

The End.jpg

5. The End (The Enemy #7) by Charlie Higson [June 7] // I. Love. This. Series. So much. I can’t believe that it’s ending and I’m actually getting a little bit emotional as I write this. Lame, I know. But this series is honestly in my top 5 favorites of all time and I’m not ready to let it go but I also can’t wait to read this. Every single book in this series is amazing, and I’m sure this one will be as well.

United As One.jpg

6. United As One (Lorien Legacies #7) by Pittacus Lore [June 28] // Now, it seems like the theme has shifted to “last books in series.” I’ve been a fan of this series for such a long time and while they aren’t the best books ever, they’re addictive and fun and I’m excited to see how it all wraps up.


And that’s all for today’s Top Ten Tuesday! Sorry it’s not the full ten, but these are the six books that I am actually excited for. I didn’t want to add in four random books just for the sake of getting to ten.

Fun fact: Passenger, Lady Midnight, The Last Star, and The End were all on my list of most anticipated books of 2015. Passenger, Lady Midnight, and The Last Star were all originally supposed to come out this year, and The End came out this year in the U.K.

Another fun fact: my most anticipated books of 2015 was posted exactly one year ago. I don’t know I thought that was a kinda cool coincidence.

Anyway, thanks for reading everyone! What books are you most excited about for next year? Let me know!

~ RJ

11 thoughts on “Anticipated 2016 Releases (January – June) | Top Ten Tuesday #21

  1. omg. LADY MIDNIGHT. that cover. sklksdfklfhf. I cannot coherently form words right now, so that keyboard smash will have to do. I haven’t really followed any of the other series as much, so I can’t say anything about them, but I’m really looking forward to Marissa Meyer’s new books. I CAN’T WAIT. Or Victoria Schwab’s books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read anything by Victoria Schwab yet but I’m planning on doing so soon! And I’m currently reading Winter and I love Marissa Meyer’s writing but Heartless comes out in November which is why I didn’t include it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

