How to Get Away with Murder (Season 1) | TV Review

TV review.png

Hey everyone! Today I’m going to be doing something that I’ve never done before on this blog: a tv series review. It’s a lot different from what I normally do, but I want to change thing up on here. This is a spoiler free review, so if you haven’t seen the show yet, don’t worry. Let’s get started!

 

How to Get Away with Murder S1 Review

How to Get Away With Murder 1.jpg

How to Get Away with Murder is one of the best shows I’ve seen in a while. I watched the entire first season in two days. It’s addicting and I’m absolutely obsessed with it. If you haven’t watched this series yet, I highly recommend you do so.

One thing I really enjoy about the show is how pretty much none of the characters are super likable, but they still have redeeming qualities. I go back and forth on all of the characters; sometimes I like them, sometimes I don’t. The point of the show isn’t for you to like the characters, but is instead for you to try to piece together the mystery with the limited information they give you and to keep you on the edge of your seat, wondering what will happen next. The main character Annalise Keating is a defense attorney/law professor. She picks five students (Wes, Laurel, Asher, Michaela, and Connor) to work with her and her two assistants Frank and Bonnie. Other important characters are Connor’s boyfriend Oliver, Annalise’s husband Sam, and Wes’s neighbor Rebecca. Oh, and Nick, who in my opinion is the least likable character in the show. And maybe some more that I’m missing.

How to Get Away With Murder 3

While a lot of the characters aren’t super likable, my favorite characters are Laurel, Connor, and Oliver. Even though they are all (especially Laurel and Connor) not without flaws, they are still amaing characters that I found myself drawn to the most out of the cast. Laurel is hardworking (they all are) and competitive (they all are), and there is just something about her that I really like. Connor and Oliver are honestly my OTP and I love both of them so much, especially when they are together. I enjoy their conflict and their ups and downs. They aren’t perfect by any means, but through all of the downs and the uppers they always manage to make things right.

Let’s talk briefly about Annalise Keating, because seeing as she’s the main character she deserves a little bit of discussion. Sometimes I hate her, sometimes I love her. She’s not very nice, at all, but there are moments where I feel bad for her and sympathize for her. These are the characters I like the most, the ones that make you feel something, and Annalise is definitely one of those characters. Viola Davis’s acting definitely helps; it’s strong and she portrays her character amazingly. I can’t. Speaking of acting, all of the acting is pretty much amazing in this series.

My favorite thing about this series is how it’s done. That doesn’t really make much sense, so let me explain. We have a pivotal moment in the season that is show at the very beginning of the first episode. Then we spend the first ten episodes (I think) going back and forth between what happened and how we got there and the writing is just so good. Each episode we get a little more information on what’s going on. The mystery is played out really well and I was constantly surprised at new developments and things that I really did not expect.

All in all, How to Get Away with Murder season 1 is amazing. Each episode kept me entertained from start to finish, the acting is amazing, and the way the mystery develops is wonderful. If you haven’t watched this show yet, I highly recommend it.

I’ve already finished the second season (at least, what’s out so far), so a review of that will be coming shortly.

Thanks for reading everyone! Let me know what you think of me doing TV reviews in addition to book reviews. I know it’s been a while since I’ve done a book review, but one will be coming as soon as I finish a book, haha. Anyway, have a great day and I’ll be posting again very soon!

~ RJ

 

12 thoughts on “How to Get Away with Murder (Season 1) | TV Review

Leave a Reply

