Most Anticipated 2016 Movies | Movie Mondays 01.04.16

Movie Mondays.pngHey everyone! This is the start of a new feature I want to start here on this blog. Movie Mondays (because alliteration, it was either this or Film Fridays…) is pretty much just a feature where I’ll write about movies. This can be anything: lists, reviews, or just anything related to movies.

In this post, I’m going to be talking about movies coming out in 2016 that I am the most excited to see. I’ve separated this list into three different sections: superhero movies, movies based on books, and other. Without further ado, let’s get started!

Most Anticipated 2016 Movies

Superhero Movies

Everyone loves superhero movie (okay, maybe not everyone, but a lot of people). And while some people are getting “tired” of them or whatever, I’m definitely not part of that group. I am obsessed with superhero movies. The ones coming out this year that am most excited about are:

Captain America: Civil War

I literally can’t wait for this movie to come out. The MCU is one of my favorite movie franchises, so I have high hopes for this movie. I’ve seen the trailer at least ten times and I’m into it. Like I said, I have high hopes for this movie, so hopefully it won’t disappoint. (6 May)

X-Men: Apocalypse

I absolutely loved Days of Future Past, and I’ve been waiting for this movie pretty much since that one came out. I’m so into the X-Men Franchise, even though it definitely has its ups and downs. So hopefully this is one of the ups. Even though the trailer sort of made me a bit unsure, I’m still excited for this. (27 May)

Suicide Squad

Well, this isn’t really a superhero movie, but a supervillain movie. I’m way more into Marvel than DC, but this might change that. This movie looks so cool and I love the concept so hopefully it lives up to my expectations. I’ve been waiting for this movie for forever, so I’m excited for the day it finally comes. (5 August)

Movies Based on Books.png

There aren’t that many movies based on books coming out this year, at least as far as I know, but these four are the ones that I’m most interested in seeing:

The 5th Wave

This is one of my favorite books, so I’m obviously going to go see the film. Even though the trailer was kinda meh and Chloe Grace Moretz is kinda meh, I’m excited to see this movie but with low expectations, if you know what I mean. I’ll just have to see. (15 January)

Allegiant

At this point, I don’t even really care that much about the Divergent series, but I know I’m going to see it through and watch all the movies. I hope that they won’t mess it up any more than they already have. I’m not expecting great things from this film but I’m going to see it anyway. (18 March)

Alice Through The Looking Glass

I haven’t read this book, but I did see the first Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland movie, and while a lot of people didn’t really like it, and it was just sort of mediocre, I did really enjoy it. It was fun and that’s what is really important in a movie to me, so I’m definitely planning on seeing this (but probably not in theatres…). (27 May)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

What Harry Potter fan isn’t excited for this movie? We’ve been anticipating this for like, over a year, and it’s finally coming out later this year. I’m so so so excited for this movie. I know it won’t be as good as the Harry Potter movies, but I really hope it’s good. (18 Nov)

Other Movies.png

Finally, let’s talk about the other movies that aren’t superhero movies and aren’t based on books that I’m planning on seeing this year:

Finding Dory

Pixar can do no wrong, and I love Finding Nemo, so of course I’m planning on seeing this! Pixar movies are always great, so I’m not worried about this and have high hopes. (17 June)

The Purge 3

I’m in the minority, but I actually like the Purge movies. Sue me. The first wasn’t great but the second was an improvement. I love the concept (even though it requires some a lot of suspension of disbelief), and they’re entertaining enough. (1 July)


There’s probably a lot of movies I’m missing that I’m going to see, but these are the ones that I’m definitely planning on seeing. What films are you most anticipating this year? Leave a comment and let me know!

Thanks for reading, everyone!

~ RJ

10 thoughts on “Most Anticipated 2016 Movies | Movie Mondays 01.04.16

    1. I agree that Insurgent wasn’t great and I don’t understand why they felt the need to split Allegiant into two parts lol. And yeah a lot of people don’t like Alice in Wonderland but I love it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Zombie is Ben right? I saw him more as Evan too and I’m not 100% sold on the actor playing Evan yet but he’ll probably grow on me when I see the movie

      Like

  1. Can’t wait for Captain America: Civil War! I love how everything is just getting bigger and more awesome. Are you also excited for the “DC counterpart” Batman vs. Superman?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

