Winter by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

Winter Review

Winter was such a good series finale. I think that that’s so rare to see, so it was definitely refreshing to read this book. In short, this book was absolutely amazing. The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series of all time, and if you haven’t started it yet, I highly recommend that you do so.

This is going to be a short review, just because there isn’t much to say about this book other than it was amazing. I really like the characters in this series. I  liked Winter despite being a bit skeptical after the little we see of her in Cress. However, she turned out to be a very likable character, though there were times where she did annoy me. My favorite couple is Cinder and Kai, but I love Cress and Thorne as well. I still don’t like Scarlet and Wold, like, at all. They’re my least favorite part of the book as well as the series in general.

I really enjoyed this ending. Wrapping up a series is very difficult to do, and a lot of authors don’t do so effectively. Thankfully, Meyer wrote a wonderful conclusion, one of the best series finales I’ve ever read. The ending scene was just perfect, in my opinion. So much happened in this book and it just felt so epic and I really enjoyed reading from everyone’s point of view to see everything that was going on. There were so many things going on and it was really cool to see it all unfold.

Marissa Meyer’s writing style is so good. I love the way she not only incorporates the original fairy tale into her sci-fi world, but also manages to weave together four storylines perfectly. Overlapping or multiple storylines coming together is one of my favorite tropes, and I absolutely love when it’s done well. Despite the length of the novel, I never felt bored. Meyer draws you in with her words and refuses to let go until the end. I kept wanting to know what happened next and eagerly turned the page. I couldn’t get enough, and I still can’t; I want more.

While it’s sad to see this series come to an end, I’m extremely happy with the ending. Like I said, if you haven’t read this series yet, I wholeheartedly recommend it!

5 star

I changed up the formatting in this review, just to try something different, so let me know what you think. Also, if you’ve read Winter, let me know your thoughts!

~ RJ

2 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

Leave a Reply

