Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare | Book Review

Lady Midnight Review

“There was beauty in the idea of freedom, but it was an illusion. Every human heart was chained by love.”

MyThoughts

Lady Midnight is a great first book to Cassandra Clare’s The Dark Artifices series. Despite a slow beginning that made it difficult at first for me to really get into it, I was completely obsessed by the end of the novel. This is definitely Cassandra Clare’s best series starter, and one of her best books overall. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and am eagerly waiting for the sequel.

I loved nearly every single character in this book. Our two main characters are Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn. Emma is an amazing protagonist, and definitely my favorite of Cassandra Clare’s three series. She’s a driven and skilled warrior, sarcastic, and overall a complete badass. Something I really liked was that the main character already knew about being a Shadowhunter. While in both TMI and TID, the protagonist has to learn about the world, Emma already lives in the Shadow World. It was refreshing and saved the novel from having to explain things such as the Clave, Downworlders, and demons, that most readers would already know about. This also allowed more time to connect with the characters, rather than having to learn about the world. Emma’s parabatai and love interest, Julian, is one of my favorite characters in all of the Shadowhunter Chronicles. He’s extremely loyal to his family and will do whatever it takes to protect them. He’s also in love with Emma, which is extremely illegal. Loving your parabatai is against the Law, which is a huge part of this novel and series. I’m excited to see how this plays out in the future books.

The supporting characters, such as the Blackthorns and Cristina, are just as lovable. The Blackthorn family (Mark, Livvy, Ty, Dru, and Tavvy) are all well-built characters. They all have their own distinct personalities, and I liked reading about their familial relationship. Cristina Rosales is Emma’s best friend, from Mexico City. I loved their friendship. It was always fun and lighthearted to balance out the intense fight scenes. And some old favorites from Cassandra Clare’s previous series, such as Jace and Clary and Jem and Tessa, make appearances, which was just great.

The plot of this book was very solid. While it’s a pretty long book, it never felt boring, at least after getting through the slow beginning. Cassandra Clare does a great job of making this book feel like a complete story while also laying down the groundwork for the rest of the series. At its core, Lady Midnight is a mystery, and I was kept guessing until the very end of the book. Cassandra Clare has grown as a writer so much, and it definitely shows in this.

Another thing I really enjoyed about this book was the setting. Lady Midnight takes place in Los Angeles. LA is one of my favorite cities, and I’m moving there in the fall, so it was very fun to read a book set there. So many books seem to take place in New York, so it was refreshing to read a book set in the City of Angels.

Overall, Lady Midnight is a fantastic book. It has phenomenal characters, a mystery-driven plot that makes it impossible to put down, and amazing action scenes. I completely recommend it to anyone.

5 star


Have you read Lady Midnight? If so, let me know your thoughts! I’d love to further discuss this book! 

One thought on “Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare | Book Review

  1. I actually didn’t like how it took place in L.A and liked New York more and I found it really hard to get into, but I’m glad you enjoyed the book. I’m looking forward to her next books in the series anyhow! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

