Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley | Book Review + Discussion

Hey everyone! Today I’m going to be reviewing Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley. I read this last month, but put off writing my review for it. But I finally got around to writing it, so here it is!

MyThoughts

Okay, so this book was actually amazing. I really, really liked it. I don’t read contemporaries very often, but I’m glad that I picked this one up. The novel follows Solomon, Lisa, and Clark as they become friends after Lisa takes it upon herself to “fix” Solomon of his agoraphobia so that she can write an amazing essay about it and get into an amazing school with an amazing psychology program. It’s a coming-of-age story that touches upon themes of friendship, family, and mental illness. The characters are pretty pretty much what you expect from a YA contemporary, but still well-rounded and interesting. I really enjoyed the dynamic of the three characters, as well as the dynamic between Solomon and his family. This novel explores the importance of both familial and platonic love.

Whaley is an excellent writer. His writing style is very simple, which contributed to a very fast paced and engrossing read. While the writing isn’t spectacularly poetic or literary or anything, it was still great and fit well with the story that he was trying to tell. This book was nearly impossible to put down, and I actually finished the whole thing in a day, which doesn’t happen very often for me. The novel is written in third-person limited, which is something I haven’t seen often, and follows Solomon and Lisa’s points of view. I wish there were chapters written from Clark’s point of view, because he was my favorite of the three main characters, but I guess you can’t have everything.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone. If you’re looking for a great YA contemporary, definitely check Highly Illogical Behavior out.

4.5 star


 

Thank you for reading my (very short) review of John Whaley’s Highly Illogical Behavior. I don’t have a lot to say other than I loved this book. If you’ve read it, let me know in the comments; I’d love to discuss this book further.

I finished reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child the other day, so a review for that should be up shortly.

~ RJ

Leave a Reply

